SimplePractice Software

General information only — not medical advice. SimplePractice is a practice management and electronic health record platform for health and wellness professionals. Solo practitioners and small practices use it to manage scheduling, client records, documentation, billing, and secure messaging in one system, with a client portal for booking, forms, and payments. The vendor describes it as an all-in-one system for running a private practice.

All prices below were checked live on SimplePractice’s own pricing page on the date under Sources. Promotional prices are shown separately from standard prices throughout, so the standard monthly price is never presented as if it were the discounted price.

Who it fits

SimplePractice fits solo practitioners and small group practices in health and wellness fields, including therapists, counselors, psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, dietitians, speech-language pathologists, occupational therapists, and other professionals named by the vendor. The Starter plan suits a single clinician who needs core scheduling and documentation, while the Essential and Plus plans add billing, telehealth, and wider practice management for growing practices.

SimplePractice does not fit every practice. A large multi-location organization that needs enterprise-scale administration should confirm that the Plus plan and its add-ons cover its exact requirements, because additional clinicians are charged separately and several features are add-ons rather than included in every plan. A practice that needs a published price for a different billing arrangement should also check with SimplePractice directly, as the pricing page read shows monthly billing only for the three standard plans.

Key features

The features below come from SimplePractice’s own pricing page. Availability varies by plan, and add-ons are listed separately under Pricing.

  • Scheduling and calendar: an online calendar, online booking, appointment reminders, and a client portal for scheduling and managing appointments.
  • Documentation: customizable notes and templates, a template library, progress notes, and intake forms, with documentation features that increase across the plans.
  • Billing and payments: invoicing, online payments, insurance billing and claims in the higher plans, and AutoPay and payment reporting.
  • Telehealth: secure video sessions, including group telehealth in the Plus plan, with telehealth listed as part of the practice management features.
  • Client portal and messaging: secure messaging, a client portal, paperless intake, and a free custom website for the practice.
  • AI documentation add-ons: Care Aide and Note Taker are available as paid add-ons for AI-assisted documentation, as described under Pricing.
  • Practice insights: reports and analytics, including practice performance reporting in the Plus plan.
  • Support and onboarding: onboarding help and support, with dedicated support and migration help documented for the higher plans.

Pricing

SimplePractice publishes three standard plans. The figures below are from the SimplePractice pricing page, billed monthly. The promotional prices are separate and apply only for the first three months when a paid account is started within seven days, after which the standard price applies.

PlanStandard pricePromotional price (first 3 months)Billing basis
Starter$49 per month$24.50 per monthBilled monthly
Essential$79 per month$39.50 per monthBilled monthly
Plus$99 per month$49.50 per monthBilled monthly

Add-ons are charged separately. The pricing page lists Care Aide at $59 per month for the account owner after a 30-day free period, and $49 per month for each additional clinician, with promotional prices of $29.50 and $24.50 respectively for the first three months. Note Taker is $35 per month, or $17.50 with the promotion. ePrescribe is $49 per month, or $24.50 with the promotion, plus a one-time $89 setup fee. Insurance Navigator is free for 30 days, then $1.79 per claim. The Plus plan also lists additional clinicians starting at $74 per clinician. No other standard prices are stated on the pricing page read.

Free demo and trial

SimplePractice offers a product demo through a demo link on its site. The pricing page read did not state a demo length or format, and no demo length is claimed here.

For a trial, SimplePractice states a 30-day free trial. The trial begins on the Plus plan, and no credit card is required to start it. The pricing page states that the trial keeps going to 30 days even when the promotional offer is claimed, and that when the trial ends the user chooses a plan at standard pricing. The promotional offer itself is separate from the trial: it gives 50% off for three months when a paid account is started within seven days.

Specifications

Deployment: not stated as on-premise on the page read. SimplePractice is presented as a web-based platform with a mobile app. Devices: web access and a mobile app are stated on the pricing page; specific operating-system versions are not stated on the page read.

Integrations: the pricing page does not list a general integration catalogue in the text read, and no integration list is claimed here. The vendor lists connected features within the platform, including telehealth, ePrescribe, and insurance claims, but third-party integration names are not stated on the page read. Support: the vendor lists onboarding help, support, and, for the higher plans, dedicated support. Support hours and response times are not stated on the page read. Languages: not stated on the page read.

On compliance, the vendor’s own pricing page FAQ states: SimplePractice is HIPAA compliant and HITRUST certified. No other compliance or certification claim is made on this page, and buyers should confirm the current position with SimplePractice directly.

Strengths and limits

A strength documented by the vendor is that scheduling, documentation, billing, telehealth, and the client portal are described as one system, with three published monthly prices and a 30-day trial that starts on the Plus plan. The promotional offer also gives a new practice a lower price for the first three months, provided a paid account is started within seven days.

The limits are mainly about add-on and group costs. Several useful capabilities, including Care Aide, Note Taker, ePrescribe, and Insurance Navigator, are charged separately, and additional clinicians on the Plus plan are charged starting at $74 per clinician, so the headline plan price is not the full cost for every practice. Integration, support-hour, and language details are also not fully stated on the page read, so those points should be confirmed with SimplePractice before deciding.

Alternatives

To compare SimplePractice with other tools in the same category, see the EMR software hub.

Frequently asked questions

How much does SimplePractice cost?

The standard monthly prices are $49 for Starter, $79 for Essential, and $99 for Plus, billed monthly. A promotional price of 50% off applies for the first three months only, when a paid account is started within seven days: $24.50, $39.50, and $49.50 respectively.

Does SimplePractice offer a free trial?

Yes. SimplePractice states a 30-day free trial that begins on the Plus plan, with no credit card required. When the trial ends, the user chooses a plan at standard pricing.

Is SimplePractice HIPAA compliant?

According to the vendor’s own pricing page FAQ, SimplePractice is HIPAA compliant and HITRUST certified. Buyers should confirm the current position with SimplePractice directly.

Does SimplePractice include telehealth?

Telehealth is documented on the pricing page, with group telehealth listed for the Plus plan. The exact telehealth features in each plan should be checked on the vendor’s pricing page, as availability varies by plan.

Sources

https://www.simplepractice.com/pricing/

Last checked: November 3, 2026

Scroll to Top