General information only — not medical advice. DrChrono is a cloud-based electronic health record platform for medical practices, combining charting, scheduling, practice management and medical billing in one system. The vendor presents it as an artificial intelligence powered platform built for mobile use, with an application available through the Apple App Store.
Clinicians use it to document visits, manage appointments and patient communication, check eligibility, submit claims and follow billing, while patients use a portal for intake, scheduling and messages. The system is offered in three tiers, Foundation, Growth and Premium, and pricing is provided on request rather than published on the vendor’s pricing page.
Who it fits — and who it does not fit
DrChrono fits small and independent medical practices and specialty practices that want charting, scheduling and billing in a single cloud-based system. It fits practices that value mobile charting on a tablet or phone, practices that need patient portal, telehealth and lab connections, and practices that may want full-service billing help in the highest tier. Practices named on the vendor’s site include mental health, physical therapy and other specialty areas, as well as primary care.
It does not fit buyers who want a published price before speaking to sales, because pricing is not published and all three tiers are shown as Request a Quote. It also does not fit buyers who want a stated free trial, since no trial was stated on the pages read, or buyers who need certification, compliance, language or detailed support information stated in advance, because those points were not stated on the pages read. A practice that needs only a standalone scheduling or billing tool, without an electronic health record, may find more scope here than it needs.
Key features
- Electronic health record charting, with customisable clinical notes and templates, and speech-to-text tools for documenting visits.
- Scheduling and patient communication, including appointment scheduling, patient reminders, online scheduling in the higher tiers, and a patient portal for intake and messages.
- Telehealth, for video visits as part of the practice management tools in the higher tiers.
- Practice management and billing, including eligibility checks, claims submission, patient statements and credit card processing in the higher tiers, and full-service medical billing in the Premium tier.
- e-Prescribing in the higher tiers, with controlled-substance e-prescribing listed for the Premium tier on the vendor’s pricing comparison.
- Artificial intelligence tools, including an AI Scribe listed for the Premium tier, and AI features described on the vendor’s home page.
- Lab integrations with Quest Diagnostics and LabCorp, described as two-way lab connections on the vendor’s pricing page.
- Mobile access through an application available on the Apple App Store, for charting and practice work away from a desk.
Pricing
Pricing is not published. No price figure or billing basis was stated on the vendor’s pricing page checked on November 3, 2026, so no price table is given here and no figure from a third-party site is used. All three tiers are shown as Request a Quote, and a buyer must contact the vendor for pricing.
- Foundation: the starting tier, with core electronic health record, scheduling, patient portal, lab integrations and help centre and phone support, as listed on the vendor’s pricing page.
- Growth: adds features listed for this tier, including e-prescribing, telehealth, online scheduling, credit card processing and more advanced reporting and billing tools.
- Premium: the highest tier, adding features listed for this tier, including an AI Scribe, controlled-substance e-prescribing, full-service medical billing and dedicated support features.
These tier names, Foundation, Growth and Premium, are the names shown live on the vendor’s pricing page on November 3, 2026. See the current tier list on the DrChrono pricing page.
Free demo and trial
DrChrono offers a demonstration. The vendor’s site offers a Schedule a Demo and Get a Demo option, so a practice can see the system shown before deciding. No free trial was stated on the pages read, and no trial length is given here.
A buyer who needs to know whether any trial access is available, how long it lasts, or what it includes, should confirm that with the vendor when requesting a demo or a quote. The demonstration is not the same as trial access to use the system.
Specifications
- Deployment: cloud-based, as described in the vendor’s own title for the platform, a cloud-based electronic health record platform.
- Devices: mobile access through an application available on the Apple App Store, as presented on the vendor’s home page. Desktop devices were not stated in detail on the pages read.
- Integrations: two-way lab integrations with Quest Diagnostics and LabCorp, as listed on the vendor’s pricing page. Other integrations were not stated in detail on the pages read.
- Support: an Online Help Center and Phone Support are listed on the vendor’s pricing page. Support hours and response details were not stated on the pages read.
- Languages: not stated on the pages read.
- Certification: not stated on the pages read. No compliance or certification claim is made here.
Strengths and limits
DrChrono’s main strength, on the vendor’s own description, is combining the electronic health record, practice management and billing in a cloud-based system with a mobile application. Charting, scheduling, patient communication, labs and billing sit together, the tier structure lets a practice start with Foundation and move to Growth or Premium, and the Premium tier adds AI Scribe and full-service billing for practices that want that help.
- Cloud-based electronic health record with practice management and billing in one system.
- Mobile access, patient portal, telehealth and two-way lab integrations.
- Three tiers, with AI Scribe and full-service billing in the Premium tier.
The limits are that pricing is quote only, no free trial was stated, and several features, including telehealth, e-prescribing, AI Scribe and full-service billing, are gated by tier. Support details, languages and certification were also not stated on the pages read, so a practice that needs those details must confirm them with the vendor before deciding.
Alternatives
If DrChrono does not fit, compare other tools in the same category on the EMR software hub.
Frequently asked questions
How much does DrChrono cost? Pricing is not published. All three tiers, Foundation, Growth and Premium, are shown as Request a Quote on the vendor’s pricing page checked on November 3, 2026, and no price figure is given here.
What are the DrChrono tiers? The tiers shown live on the vendor’s pricing page are Foundation, Growth and Premium. Growth adds features such as e-prescribing and telehealth, and Premium adds features such as an AI Scribe and full-service medical billing.
Is there a demo or a free trial? A demonstration is offered through a Schedule a Demo option on the vendor’s site. No free trial was stated on the pages read, so no trial length or trial terms are given here.
Does DrChrono work on mobile devices? The vendor presents it as a mobile electronic health record with an application available on the Apple App Store. Desktop devices were not stated in detail on the pages read.
Sources and last checked
- https://www.drchrono.com/
- https://www.drchrono.com/pricing/
Last checked: November 3, 2026
